RHKYC Champion of Champions Team Racing

Champion of Champions Team Racing

Race Documents

Provisional Results

Sailing Instructions

Appendix A

Appendix B


Notice of Race

Entry Form

Crew Declaration Form

U18 Parental Consent Form


In 2012 the RHKYC recalled the “Champion of Champions” as an annual regatta. This year’s dates are the 29 and 30 August 2015 and the Match Racing Class is organising this on behalf of the RHKYC and all classes.

Based on the results of the 2014-2015 season the Champions from each Class will be invited. If their team is not available to take up the challenge the second placed team will be invited and so on. 

Type of Boats and Crew
Sailing J/80s, a minimum of 4 crew, max 5 (350Kg weight limit). For those fleets with less than 4 crew (e.g. FF, Lasers, 29ers) additional crew will be needed to be sourced. Match Racing class will seek to assist.


Event Format

The event will consist of Team Racing in a Radom Pairs format.  Each champion will be randomly paired with another champion to form a team for each race.  This team will race against another team of randomly paired champions.  The team with the lower number of points wins a race.  Each member of the winning team will be given a "win".  Racing will continue in a round-robin series.  The champion with the most wins at the end of the regatta is the Champion of Champions.

Spinnakers will be used at the descretion of the Organising Authority. 

2015 Entry List

Class Skipper
Big Boat Div 2 Simon Bloore
Dinghy/Youth Sofia Maria Mascia
Dragon Tam Nguyen
Etchells Mark Thornburrow
Flying Fifteen Oliver Merz
Impala Dennis Chien
J80 Andrew Moore
Ruffian Tim Somerville
Sportsboat Dan Tullberg


Past Winners


2013 Sam SAKAI Dinghy/Laser
2012 Greg FARRELL Etchells
2006 Gordon GREGOR Sports Boats
2005 Mark THORNBURROW Etchells
2004 Marty KAYE Etchells
2003 Marty KAYE Etchells
2002 Marty KAYE Etchells
2001 Laurence MEAD Etchells
2000 Laurence MEAD Etchells
1999 Steve BOURNE Flying Fifteen
1998 Steve BOURNE Flying Fifteen
1997 Simon WONG Impala
1996 Gary GIBSON Etchells
1995 John BRINKERS Etchells