Rolex China Sea Race 2018

Rolex China Sea Race 2018 will start on Wednesday 28 March


This 565nm Category 1 Offshore Race is run under the auspices of RORC, and takes competitors from Hong Hong, China to Subic Bay in the Philippines.


On 7 April 1962, three yachts from RHKYC, one from Manila and one from Japan crossed the line at the start of the first China Sea Race. The yachts were escorted over the first 100 miles of their 600 mile journey by two minesweepers of the Hong Kong Royal Naval Reserve.

Latest Additions Date
2018 Start Date 28-Mar-18
RCSR Notice of Race (Chi version) 08-Dec-16
Provisional Entry List 27-Oct-16
Online Entry Registration 27-Oct-16
RCSR Notice of Race (Eng version) 27-Oct-18
2016 Music Edit 24-May-16
RCSR 2016 website 24-May-16
RCSR 2016 Race Report 24-May-16
RCSR 2014 website 10-Jul-14
RCSR 2014 Race Report 10-Jul-

The finish was off Corregidor Island, crossing a line formed by vessels of the Philippines Navy, to be met by members of the Manila Yacht Club who had co-operated most generously with the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club in all the arrangements. Due to no radios being on board the yachts, Chris von Sydow's Reverie crossed the finish line after six days' racing to find out that they were in first place.

The China Sea Race was subsequently held as a biennial event. In 1964 it attracted 12 entries and in 1966, 13, including the famous ketch Stormvogel. With each successive race, the event grew bigger. In 1968, it was included for the first time in the newly organised World Ocean Racing Championships and in 1972 it was officially recognised by the Royal Ocean Racing Club.

Since then it has continued to attract interest and, as an undisputed Asian blue-water classic, has served to draw the attention of the international yachting fraternity to Hong Kong and Southeast Asia. In 2016, RP66 Alive broke the 16 year-old Race Record by just under 12 minutes, finishing in 47h 31m 08s.

Official Rolex China Sea Website

Follow the Race on our Facebook page!

And also

Major Trophies which will be awarded for the Rolex China Sea Race 2018

The Sunday Telegraph Trophy

Line Honours Winners

The China Sea Race Trophy

Winners on Corrected Time



RHKYC Sailing Manager, Ailsa Angus at or (t) +852 2239 0395

Media Enquiries

RHKYC PR & Communications Manager, Koko Mueller at or (t) +852 2239 0342